Matthew 27:29-30

In last weeks devo “hair” we see Jesus treasured, worshipped, and served. This week’s devo “crown” we see the opposite. When Jesus showed up, He was recognized as King to some, as a threat to some, and treated as a joke by others. The crown of our head is the top of our head. It is where we wear hats and crowns. When Jesus stepped in this world we should have put a crown on His head, but the Son of God was treated like a joke by the Roman soldiers. Matthew 27:29-30,”They twisted a crown of thorns and set it on his head. They put a staff in his right hand. Then they knelt in front of him and mocked him, ‘Hail King’ They spit on him, and took the staff and struck him on the head again and again.”

 Sinful man says, “I’m my own King!” The true King walks up and instead of being worshipped He is made to wear a torture device as a crown, is mocked, and then is struck in that precious head over and over again. Jesus made it clear in the Word that He could have stopped them. He took it willingly. It is amazingly shameful that I would declare myself as my own God. It is a joke for me to act like I am running things.

 Instead of back handing me off me off my self-made pedestal . . . He stepped in and took the humiliation, and punishment I deserve. I deserve to be laughed at and have my face spit in when I play God.  Jesus has every right to punch me in the head, and yell, “take off my crown! I made you, everything you have I gave to you! But the opposite happens. I see Him willingly being treated like a joke. . . like a fake King, in my place . . . so that I can be forgiven for treating Him like a joke. Thank you Jesus! I take the crown off my head and crown you King of my life. The scars on the crown of your head show me how much you love me. Please accept Jesus as Savior and King today if you have not already, or you will be punished for eternity for shunning the true King, and playing your own king.

