Right before  my wife’s bachelorette party her friend called me to ask me some questions. She was gonna ask my fiancé the same questions to see if she could guess my answers. Like who was my favorite athlete, what was my favorite color, and what was my favorite part of her. As I thought about what my favorite part of my fiancé was I mentioned a couple then said, “No, I know what it is!. Her smile.” My world stops when my wife smiles at me. I remember talking to her when we were dating and I would say something that made her smile and I would have to stop and say, “You have the most beautiful smile in the world.” Or “When you smile you are by far the most beautiful woman in the world.” Of course she would smile bigger. I loved making this woman smile. It was a big high to make this woman I loved happy, to get her so smile. I studied her . . . what makes her happy? I would learn what made her smile and do it. How much more should it rock me to make God smile? To make God happy!   What if I did things not because I felt obligated or because I wanted to look good, but because I wanted to warm the heart of my heavenly Father/ my husband Jesus. Jesus what makes you happy? A cheerful giver, humility, genuine prayer, putting other people before myself, taking my thoughts captive, etc. What if my motivation was love, and just a desire to make Him smile? I forgive because I know it will make Him smile. I get rid of any thoughts that would make Him frown, because I want to make Him happy. I have a friend and her email address is MakeHimSmile@something.com. Intimacy with God is saying, “Jesus I want to know what makes you happy . . . because I love you and my heart beats with a desire to make you smile.” We used to sing a song at church that said, “Jesus what are you thinking, what are you feeling I have to know.” Let’s probe the heart of Jesus, and find out what makes Him smile, and then live with the aim of David, “Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be pleasing to you oh God (Psalm 19:14).” and of Paul “Wherever we are we make it our aim to please HIM (2 Corinthians 5:9)”

