Colossians 3:12 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

This has been a verse that my wife and I have been talking about alot lately . . . its is who we want to be. God has chosen us, and set us apart, and dearly loves us, and He wants our lives to be full of the compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience that He has shown us. Romans 13:14 reads “. . . clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ”. We have Colossians 3:12 written on a dry erase board in our kitchen because just as we wear clothes everyday, we want everyday to be clothed with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience. Under the verse Iwrote, ‘get dressed!’ One of the reasons is that I find myself walking around and interacting with people and lacking these attributes . . . I want to put these things on.

My wife and I laid down in bed, frustrated with our children last night. We laid down frustrated with oursevles. Raising kids is a rewarding, amazing experience, but it is also the hardest, most frustrating, humbling thing that I have ever done. As we laid there I began to pray out loud, praying for our kids, and repenting for things I needed to do better as a parent. I then feel asleep. I woke up and said something to my wife about clothing oursevles with Christ, and my wife shared some thing that I thought was pretty awesome. She said that as she prayed silently the night before, it had come to mind that she had the task of clothing our children in the morning. She said that she sets out our four year old’s  clothes for her, and although she knows that they are there, she will walk out of her room in her pjs and  has to be told to go back in her room and  put them on. After she gets dressed, many times she has to be told to go and put the shoes on that were right next to her clothes.

My wife said this is like us spiritually. We know we are supposed to put on compassion, kindness, gentleness, and patience, but we often don’t. We need to hear from God, just like our 4 year old needs to be reminded to get dressed, and not forget her shoes. We need to wake up and listen to the Lord, so that we are clothed with what we are supposed to be wearing. When I don’t listen to God I end up forgetting what I have been called to be clothed in. We may clothe ourselves is some of these attributes, but later find ourselves having to be reminded to put on one that we have forgotten.  I go out and loose my temper with someone, and then get convicted that I’m not wearing pateince and need repent and go back and get dressed in pateince.

She then said think about the baby. I take our one year old’s clothes off, and she tries to run off naked. She said that she has to grab her and hold her to get her clothes on her. She is completely dependent on us to change her clothes. She would just run around naked like a savage if we didn’t make her put clothes on, or she would just wear the same thing everyday. I then chimed in, yeah we are that dependent on God! We can’t dress ourselves! John 15 calls us to abide in Christ, because without HIM we can do nothing. Without Christ I can’t produce these things. I need to be clothed in Christ. I need Christ to clothe me. We realized today, really were reminded today that we need to be constantly listening and depending on Christ or we end up walking around wearing sinful things. I mediated on Colossians 3:12 today. I texted it to my wife. I prayed Colossians 3:12. I sang it in a song singing patience, patience, is what i long for . . . patience is what I need . . . patience, patience is what you want from me . . . and prayed that the Lord would work it into my life. Then I sang compassion, and kindness, and so forth.  I sought to abide in Christ, knowing that just as my kids get dressed because they live with us, I get spiritually dressed when I live close to Jesus.

Lord I thank you that you are a parent to me. I am reminded by the dependency of my children on my wife and I to bath, feed, and clothe them, that I am completely dependent on you to feed me spiritually, bath me spiritually, and clothe me spiritually.  Help me to live close to you. In Jesus’ Name Amen.

