Do feel overwhelmed? Like there is more on your back than you can carry? That your knees may buckle with this next step? Go ahead and fall to your knees and stop trying to carry these burdens in your own strength! As Christians we have a Heavenly Father that never grows weary, and with whom nothing is too hard, that commands us to cast our cares on him, because He cares for us (I Peter 5:7).

Our Heavenly Father, ” . . . gives grace to the humble” (I Peter 5:5).  Humility stops pretending that we can do it on our own, and says, “Daddy, I can’t do this anymore! I need you! I have been trying to do things on my own and I need you to carry me and my burdens!” We need to stop trying to do life in our own strength, and depend on Him instead of ourselves. It takes a very humble person to admit I can’t do my life.

John Elderidge says that men have a warrior mentality and are constantly asking themselves, “do I have what it takes?” Many men struggle and feel like failures because life has beaten them down and made them feel like failures! The load was too heavy and they fall. God’s invitation is, “You need might? You need grace? I give it the humble.” There is a song I really like right now. It says, “I know I’m not strong enough to be everything that I’m supposed to be. I give up! I’m not strong enough! Hands of mercy won’t you cover me? Lord, I’m asking you to be strong enough for the both of us.” Matthew West is the artist.

God wants us to depend on Him. We don’t boast in our strength, getting good at doing life and saying, “Look at me! Look at me!” Our testimony can be, “My load was to heavy! If you see me pulling this thing off its because my Father is carrying me!” He is the ONE  that is to get the glory! The strong one, the delieverer gets the glory (John Piper). Let’s glorify Him by letting Him carry our load. Unload on the Lord, let him hear your heart and frustration, and then admit you can’t carry the load. Humble yourself and hand Him all your cares . . . let Him carry them . . . when you mess up, or when you realize you can’t do this thing . . . don’t despair . . . HE CAN and HE wants to.

