So many marriages don’t make it. People promise forever to someone, only to later say something like, “I just don’t want this anymore” or “I don’t love you anymore”, or “this just isn’t working”, and they walk away from their marriage. In the last month I have heard of four marriages where one of the people has walked away, or said they want to. When someone says, “I just don’t want this anymore”, my response is, “It doesn’t matter what you want.” 

If you belong to Jesus then you are supposed too have crucified the sinful nature with it’s passions and desires (Galatians 5:24). Christians have been crucified with Christ, and no longer live, but Christ lives in them and through them(Galatians 2:20).  This says that anything that I desire other than what God wants is to be nailed to the cross. I no longer live . . . but Christ lives in me. I still have a sinful nature that often desires something other than what the Spirit desires, and the way to combat this is walk in the Spirit, rather than the sinful nature(Galatians 5:16-18). This will be a battle till Christ comes back.

Faith is believeing that God exists and that He rewards those that earnestly seek Him (Hebrews 11:6) . Faith says, “Even though I am attracted to doing something other than what God wants, I am convinced that following God is more rewarding!” John Piper says, “When I choose the fleeting pleasures of sin over Christ, I always choose against my joy.” If someone as given themselves to Jesus, they become new people who desire what Jesus wants even when it is hard. They so want what God wants that, they wage war against every desire they find in themselves that is contrary to Christ.

Jesus prayed in the garden before He was to be crucified and it can be found in Matthew 26:31-46. Jesus basically prayed that he would not have to die on the cross. Then Jesus prayed, “not my will, but your will be done.” In other words, ” I don’t want to do this, but Im saying no to what I want and obeying the Father.” In Hebrews 12 we find out that Jesus went to the cross for the sake of His joy. Jesus didn’t want to say yes to the cross because it was going to be a nightmare, but He also knew that if He said no it would cost Him the joy of pleasing the Father and saving us from Hell. Sometimes our joy and God’s will is on the other side of something that it would much easier to say no to.

So when you know what God wants for your body, your finances, your marriage, your parenting, your job, your time, your future, your mind, your mouth, your eyes, etc, and you desire something else and do it for whatever reason . . . you make a step in the opposite direction of finding joy. You grab a hold of a mouse trap and say no to abundant treasure. You will be inticed by things, but faith says, “I know it is a lie, because God told me not too. I am blood-purchased and I don’t have the right to do what I want to do. Jesus owns me! (1 Corinthians 6:20). I have died to my will, and am alive to His will. It doesn’t matter what I want! It only matters what He wants! If people lived like that in their marriages, churches, and work place, they would all be alot more like heaven. I beg you Christian to deny yourself and follow Him for the sake of your joy. I beg you non-Christian to repent today and recieve Christ as Lord and Savior, and die to your kingship in your life and submit to His.

