I was at a softball game a long time ago when I was a youth minister at a church, and was approached by some of my youth. They were concerned about a friend. Their friend had said that she could not believe in God because the world was such an awful place, were such awful things happened. My heart broke. I knew that this was a person that had been hurt deeply, and desperately needed the hope of God in her life.  This is not an unusual thing. Many people have lost hope in life, because life has done nothing but kick them in the gut. It is hard for many people to believe in an all-powerful, all-loving God when this world is so messed up.

As I got to share way back then . . .  I want to say tonight that the fact that this world is so messed up increases my faith rather than destroys my faith in God. The Bible tells us in Genesis 3, that when Satan tempted Adam and Eve. . . and they  sinned . . .  that the world fell . . . that mankind fell. Sickness, and death, and sin entered into the paradise that God created.  The world is just what the Bible says that it is. Mankind is just who the Bible says that they are. Jesus stepped down into this dark world  to destory the works of the devil(1 John 3:8), and to rescue us from this present evil age (Galatians 1:4).

Every problem that this world has . . . Jesus is the answer! Politically this world will not be right until Jesus is King. Our sin has us headed to hell, without our Savior dying in our place to save us. All the problems in the world are solved in Revelation 20. This part of the Bible tells us of Jesus making everything right when He returns for good. John, the author of Revelation, writes, ” . . . I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away . . . Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away. He who was on the throne said, I am making everything new!”

We still live in the old order. The Bible says that this is a time of death, mourning, crying, and pain. It is a time when God is invisible to us, and we are required to walk by faith rather than sight. But soon our faith will become sight! When Jesus comes back this order will be done away with . . . Jesus will wipe every tear from our eyes . . . and make all things new. This new order includes us being given glorified bodies, and finally not struggling with sin as our hearts are made completely new. Jesus will be visible to us, and we will live with Him forever.

See! The Bible tells us why the world is like it is, and it also gives us the hope that this is a temporary order and that our Jesus is gonna make things right. In the words of an old minister I once knew, “For lost people this world is as good as it gets . . . But for us that know Jesus, this world is as bad as it gets!” I end this with a big smile on my face singing The Ambassador’s lyics, ” I got that ho-ho-hope! ho-ho-hope! I got that hope man, I got that hope man!”

