Two of the things that Jesus talked the most about was money . . . and Hell. Not exactly the easiest things to hear Jesus talk about. Probably the last thing most people want to hear about. Something hit me today. Square in the face. Hell is real. I know it theologically, but do I believe in it to the point that it is real to me. When I get a real picture of what Hell is, my heart shivers and I want to explain it away!  I desire very much not to believe in it. When I talk about Jesus coming back with my wife we get excited! But one night she broke my celebration with the words, “Can we ask HIM to wait?” I responded, “What do you mean baby? Its gonna be awesome!” Her response, “Many of our loved ones are not ready to see HIM!” A feeling of terror and sadness came over me.

The Bible teaches that we, “have all sinned and fallen short of the glory of God”(Romans 3:23) . It also teaches that this sin has earned us death(Romans 6:23). Revelation  teaches that, “the lake of fire is the second death. All whose names were not found written in the book of life were thrown into the lake of fire” (Revelation 20:15). Are the names of your co-workers written in that book? Are the names of your family members in that book? Is your name in that book?

There is only one way to get in the book.  John 3:16 says, “That God so loved the world, that He gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes on Him, will not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:36 say,  “Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s wrath remains on them.” This word doesn’t just mean believe he exists, but it is a believing on Him, and trusting in Him. It is a Noah like faith, a running into Jesus like Noah got into the Ark. It is a repenting of sin, and entering into a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. Jesus is the Lamb of God that takes away the sin of the world . . .  And those who have recieved HIM as their only hope, and made Him their Savior and Lord, are in that book . . . because Jesus took the penalty for their sin . . . but everyone not in that book will pay the penalty for their own sin.

Wow. Now lets let this really hit home. Let’s insert the name of someone we know in the following blank, that is not washed in the blood of Christ. Revelation 20:15: “____________  was not found in the book of life, and was thrown into the lake of fire” Wow. Let that become real to you. Listen to these words from hell in Luke 16, . . “have pity on me and send Lazarus to dip the tip of his finger in water and cool my tongue, because I am in agony in this fire . . . ‘Then I beg you, father, send Lazarus to my family,  for I have five brothers. Let him warn them, so that they will not also come to this place of torment.” Wow, words from a man who is spending eternity in hell, with no way out and no way to witness.

We can witness though! We are called to be Christ’s Amassadors! Listen: “We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.  God made him who had no sin to be sinfor us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God” (2 Corinthians 5:20-21). 

Hell . . . a place that if we really believed in, the words of Spurgeon would be our lifestyle! Listen:  “If sinners be damned, at least let them leap to Hell over our dead bodies. And if they perish, let them perish with our arms wrapped about their knees, imploring them to stay. If Hell must be filled, let it be filled in the teeth of our exertions, and let not one go unwarned and unprayed for” (Charles H. Spurgeon) and “God save us from living in comfort while sinners are sinking into hell!”(Charles Spurgeon).

I apologize to my lost family and friends. I apologize to my saved family and friends. I apologize to my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I apologize that I have not lived like hell is as real as it is. I have not witnessed as hard as I should to lost people. I have not been a good enough example of an Amassador of Christ to other believers. I have not been going hard enough on the mission that my Lord gave me. Thank you for your forgiveness and grace Lord, and fill me with a burning in my heart to reach the lost. In Jesus’ Name Amen.

