the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.  Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. GALATIANS 5:22-25

Last night my wife and I were readingthe Bible together. We were reading in the book of Numbers about how God led the Isrealites through the desert with a cloud. The cloud would settle on the tent of meeting and as long as it stayed there the Israelites were to stay encamped right there. When the cloud would rise the Israelites would pack up and follow the cloud until it stopped again. Numbers 9:15-23 is were you can find this account. It ends with, “At the Lord’s command they encamped, and at the Lord’s command they set out . . .” The Israelites got their direction from this clould of guidance, and they obeyed. The Lord decided when they stayed and when they left.

My number one resolution for 2012 is to be more in tune with the Lord, and to be more obedient to the Lord. I resolve that my stayings, and my comings, and my goings will be according to HIS will. You see when we become Christains we are given a guide. The Holy Spirit is God living in the believer to guide the believer to God’s will, and empower the believer to live it out.

Galatians says that those that belong to Christ Jesus have crucifed the sinful nature with its passions and desires . . . in other words every passion and desire in me that is contrary to the Spirit’s leading and control is to be nailed to the cross and I am to be controlled and led by the Spirit. My actions are not decided by my mood, fear, lust, selfish ambition, preference, other people, comfort, political correctness, or anything else . . . but by the Spirit whispering to my heart, “this is the way walk in it.” Are we tuned into this station?

Every moment is a moment for meto have the Spirit lead and control me so that love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control come out of my life.

I believe that the Spirit wants to lead me to places i need to be, wants to give me the words HE wants me to speak, the actions he wants me to do, to and for the people HE wants them done to.  Can you imagine how nuts our lives would be if each moment the words we spoke, the actions we performed, the thoughts we thought were because we were keeping in step with God instead of our fear, mood, lust, selfishness, preference, or what everyone thought we should do? Your feet are gonna be moving, your brain is gonna be thinking, your mouth is gonna be running, your eyes are gonna be looking in 2012 . . . who is directing them? The world, the flesh and the devil or THE HOLY SPIRIT OF THE LIVING GOD?

